D3football.com 2017 All-North Region Team

Chase Burton
Jordan Hassan
By Russ DeHoedt, d3photography.com; IWU athletics

Franklin quarterback Chase Burton and Illinois Wesleyan linebacker Jordan Hassan lead the D3football.com 2017 All-North Region team. Burton was named North Region Offensive Player of the Year, while Hassan was named the North Region Defensive Player of the Year.

The 2017 D3football.com All-Region teams are presented by the City of Salem, hosts of Stagg Bowl XLV, to be played on Friday, Dec. 15, in Salem, Virginia. Tickets are on sale now for Stagg Bowl XLV at Ticketmaster and the Salem Civic Center. Call 540-375-3004 to charge by phone or purchase online through Ticketmaster.

Mount Union coach Vince Kehres, who has led the Purple Raiders to the national semifinals with a 13-0 record, including three playoff wins and the national quarterfinals of the Division III playoffs, is the North Region Coach of the Year. He was D3football.com national Coach of the Year in 2015.

Burton, a senior from Corydon, Indiana, led the Grizzlies to the NCAA playoffs, completing 69 percent of his passes, while throwing for 42 touchdowns against four interceptions. He threw for 3,636 yards in the regular season, including a season-high 464 vs. Rose-Hulman, the Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference’s defending champion. He was the HCAC’s offensive player of the year.

Hassan, a senior from Wheaton, Illinois, helped the Titans win a share of the College Conference of Illinois and Wisconsin championship, recording 92 tackles, 70 of them solo. He had 11 tackles for loss and five and a half sacks in the regular season, including three tackles for loss among 14 total tackles in a 14-10 win at Wheaton. He was the CCIW’s defensive player of the year.

The teams, selected in balloting by North Region sports information directors and D3football.com staff, were chosen from 217 nominations by Division III member schools. A total of 75 players were chosen. Players nominated for All-Region are eligible to be considered for D3football.com All-America honors, which will be announced the evening of Dec. 15, in D3football.com’s pregame coverage for Stagg Bowl XLV.

D3football.com 2017 All-North Region Team

Offensive Player of the Year: Chase Burton, QB, Franklin

Defensive Player of the Year: Jordan Hassan, LB, Illinois Wesleyan

Coach of the Year: Vince Kehres, Mount Union

First Team Offense      
Pos. Player School Yr. Hometown
QB Chase Burton Franklin Sr. Corydon, Ind.
RB Austin Breunig North Central (Ill.) Sr. Sandwich, Ill.
RB Roger Walker Marietta Sr. Palm Bay, Fla.
WR Justin Hill Mount Union So. Circleville, Ohio
WR Demetrius Magee Heidelberg Sr. Rochester Hills, Ohio
TE Zach Lindquist Wheaton (Ill.) Sr. Mahtomedi, Minn.
T Brock Riggs Heidelberg Sr. Tiffin, Ohio
G Justin Fairfield Hope Sr. N. Muskegon, Mich.
C Cole Parrish Mount Union Sr. Creedmore, N.C.
G Mitchell Watts Trine Sr Goshen, Ind.
T Joe Fehrle North Central (Ill.) Sr. Rockford, Ill.
K Cameron Cook Adrian Sr. Linden, Mich.
RET Dakota Nelson Manchester Sr. Fairland, Ind.
First Team Defense      
DE Chase Greenlee Wheaton (Ill.) Sr. Columbus, Ohio
DT Austin Crow Heidelberg Sr. Westerville, Ohio
DT Michael Vidal Mount Union Sr. Miami, Fla.
DE Elijah Berry Mount Union Sr. Dublin, Ohio
LB Jordan Hassan Illinois Wesleyan Sr. Wheaton, Ill.
LB Mason McKenrick John Carroll Sr. Mentor, Ohio
LB Charlie Dear Mount Union Sr. Massillon, Ohio
CB Alec Thompson Rose-Hulman Sr. Clermont, Fla.
S Trevor Staley Illinois Wesleyan Jr. Lake Zurich, Ill.
S Fred Hardgrove Otterbein So. Columbus, Ohio
CB Gabe Brown Mount Union So. Plant City, Fla.
P Austin Baker Heidelberg Jr. Clyde, Ohio
Second Team Offense      
QB Michael Whitley Lakeland Sr. Vidalia, La.
RB Lamar Carswell Trine Jr. Toledo, Ohio
RB Christiaan Williams Ohio Northern So. Sidnay, Ohio
WR Deontez Alexander Franklin Sr. Indianapolis, Ind.
WR Nick Strausbaugh Wooster So. Fredericksburg, Ohio
TE Danny Disbrow John Carroll Jr. Avon Lake, Ohio
T Matt Fitchet Mount Union Sr. Conneaut, Ohio
G Jon Callaway Wheaton (Ill.) Sr. Wheaton, Ill.
C Parker Young Rose-Hulman Sr. Manhattan, Ill.
G Sam Burck Franklin Sr. Indianapolis, Ind.
T Caleb Riggleman Marietta Jr. Beverly, W.Va.
K Alex Louthan Mount Union Sr. Loganville, Ga.
RET Jeffery Barnett Trine Jr. Fremont, Ohio
Second Team Defense      
DE Mike Riley Rose-Hulman Jr. Naperville, Ill.
DT Emonte Logan North Central (Ill.)  Sr. Oak Park, Ill.
DT Patrick O’Connell Wheaton (Ill.) Sr. Long Grove, Ill.
DE Chandler Ferko Wittenberg Sr. Plain City, Ohio
LB Zach Schmerge Ohio Northern Sr. Wapakoneta, Ohio
LB Kam Dawtyne Aurora Sr. Milledgeville, Ill.
LB Kaelen Garner Rose-Hulman Sr. Ocean Springs, Miss.
CB Marcus Winters Trine Jr. Toledo, Ohio
S Brian Groves Mount Union Sr. Stow, Ohio
S Brad Brodek Ohio Wesleyan Sr. Parma, Ohio
CB Marcus Smith Wheaton (Ill.) Sr. Menomonie, Wis.
P Bryant Walker Oberlin Fr. South Lyon, Mich.
Third Team Offense      
QB D’Angelo Fulford Mount Union So. Miramar, Fla.
RB Ike James Wabash So. Lowell, Ind.
RB Sola Olateju Wheaton (Ill.) Sr. North Oaks, Minn.
WR Andrew Kamienski North Central (Ill.) Fr. South Elgin, Ill.
WR Jerron McGaw Adrian Jr. Indianapolis, Ind.
TE Dylan Buresh Wabash Sr. Holland, Mich.
T Andrew Jones Wheaton (Ill.) Jr. Minooka, Ill.
G Thomas Cunningham DePauw Sr. Elkhart, Ind.
C Eric McDonel Adrian Sr. Titusville, Fla.
G Scott Turner Wittenberg Sr. Fort Thomas, Ky.
T Andrew Hagar Trine Sr. Millersburg, Ind.
K Michael Leshchyshyn Oberlin So. Seattle, Wash.
RET Jared Ruth Mount Union Sr. Indianapolis, Ind.
Third Team Defense      
DE Dustin Tripp Alma Sr. Byron Center, Mich.
DT Conner Bogard John Carroll So. Cleveland, Ohio
DT Danny Drummond Benedictine Sr. Holland, Mich.
DE Isaac Zickafoose Bluffton Jr. Middlebury, Ind.
LB Tommy Sora North Central (Ill.) Sr. Morton Grove, Ill.
LB Eric Stevenson Wheaton (Ill.) Jr. Lewisville, Texas
LB Chaun Maiava North Park Sr. Tafuna, American Samoa
CB Connor Calvert Carthage Jr. Caledonia, Mich.
S Jarrett Wasson Heidelberg Sr. Tipp City, Ohio
S Curt Williams Kenyon Sr. Chesterland, Ohio
CB John Adams III Olivet Fr. Redford, Mich.
P Sam Blanzy Albion Jr. Grosse Pointe, Mich.