Endicott's Rushe, Silva Named All-New England by Football Writers

More news about: Endicott

2013 New England Football Writers All-New England Team 

MANCHESTER, N.H. - The list of 2013 New England Football Writers (NEFW) Division II/III All-New England team have been named and Endicott seniors Dylan Rushe (Palos, Verdes, Calif.) and Jason Silva (Palatine, Ill.) were listed among the 28 honorees who will be honored at the annual NEFW Captains and Awards Banquet on Thursday, December 12th at the Montvale Plaza in Stoneham. 

Rushe becomes Endicott's second NEFC All-New England student-athlete, joining former defensive end Kevin Eagan '11, to win the award in multiple seasons.  Rushe, already named a NEFC First Team kicker and punter with four NEFC Special Teams Player of the Week awards, earns NEFW All-New England punter after averaging 40.8 yards per punt.  He spotted 21 of his punts inside the opposition's 20-yard line with 12 fair catches and three touchbacks.  Rushe was especially effective during Endicott's run towarsd their second NEFC Championship, totaling 13 punts inside the opponent's 20 including a school record seven in the NEFC title game.  

Rushe was previously honored by the NEFW in 2012, a season that ended with Endicott's second straight Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC) North Atlantic Bowl victory.  Rushe finishes his career as the Blue and Green's all-time leader in punt average (39.6) while holding numerous placekicking records.  He is also the program's leader in scoring with 356 career points (188 PATs, 56 FGs). 

Silva, a NEFC First Team Defensive Back for the second time in his career in 2013, earns his first NEFW All-New England nod after posting a career-high and team-high 101 tackles, an average of 9.2 tackles per game, and eight passes defended in 2013.  Silva recorded four interceptions and four pass break ups for the Gulls who led the NEFC with 15 pick offs this past fall.  The safety shined in Endicott's 24-0 shutout of Salve Regina in the NEFC Championship, intercepting the Seahawks quarterback twice and breaking up two pass attempts as the Gulls won the NEFC trophy for the second time in four seasons.  

Silva ends his stellar career in a tie for second with 2013 Endicott Athletics Hall of Fame inductee Pego Jean-Paul '08 with 12 career interceptions and first in total interception return yards (227).  

Endicott is one of six New England football programs have that multiple representatives on the All-New England team.  Northeast-10 (NE-10) Conference member Assumption leads with three winners while New England Football Conference (NEFC) schools Endicott and Salve Regina as well as the NE-10's Stonehill and the Massachusetts State College Athletic Conference's (MASCAC) Framingham State and Bridgewater State all have two honorees.  

Dec. 10: All times Eastern
at UW-Oshkosh 10, John Carroll 3
Box Score Recap Photos
at Mary Hardin-Baylor 14, Mount Union 12
Box Score Recap Photos
Dec. 16: All times Eastern
Mary Hardin-Baylor 10, at UW-Oshkosh 7
@ Salem, Va.
Box Score Photos
Maintenance in progress.