Jones, Dettlinger, Dace named CCIW Football Players of the Week

NAPERVILLE, Ill. – Illinois Wesleyan's Devonte Jones, North Park's Bennett Dettlinger and North Central's Nick Dace were named the College Conference of Illinois & Wisconsin (CCIW) Football Players of the Week Monday.

Jones, a senior running back from Bolingbrook, Illinois and Bolingbrook High School (History & Sociology major), rushed for 226 yards and three touchdowns on 35 carries during the Titans' 35-21 victory at Millikin on Saturday in the CCIW opener for both teams. The 226 rushing yards was the fifth most in school history and the most since Marcus Dunlop had 222 yards on October 30, 2004. The 35 carries also tied for third all time in school history. Jones also had one kickoff return for 60 yards against the Big Blue.

Dettlinger, a senior linebacker from Louisville, Kentucky and Louisville Male High School (Exercise Science & Business major), helped the Vikings snap an 89-game CCIW losing streak during a 22-20 victory against Carthage on Saturday. It was North Park's first conference win since a 31-21 defeat of Elmhurst on October 7, 2000. Against the Red Men, Dettlinger had 12 tackles, 0.5 tackles-for-loss, one fumble recovery and an interception with 3:37 left to seal the win.

Dace, a senior kicker from Freeport, Illinois and Freeport High School (Sport Management major), was four-for-four on PATs and had a 25-yard field goal during a 31-14 win at Elmhurst on Saturday to open up the CCIW season. Dace's seven points pushed his North Central career-leading scoring total to 303. He also had six kickoffs for an average of 56.8 yards against the Bluejays.

2013 CCIW Football Players of the Week

Offensive Players of the Week
Devonte Jones – Illinois Wesleyan (10/7/13)
Sean Dunning – Millikin (9/30/13)
Spencer Stanek – North Central (9/23/13)
Spencer Stanek – North Central (9/16/13)
Rob Gallik – Illinois Wesleyan (9/9/13)

Defensive Players of the Week
Bennett Dettlinger – North Park (10/7/13)
Tim Hollowed – Illinois Wesleyan (9/30/13)
Erik Westerberg – Augustana (9/23/13)
John Focosi – North Central (9/16/13)
Sean Walker – Augustana (9/9/13)

Special Teams Players of the Week
Nick Dace – North Central (10/7/13)
Grant Shreve – Millikin (9/30/13)
No selection (9/23/13)
Sam Cote – Wheaton (9/16/13)
Justin Swider – Wheaton (9/9/13)

The College Conference of Illinois & Wisconsin (CCIW) was founded in 1946 and currently services eight member institutions including Augustana College (Rock Island, IL), Carthage College (Kenosha, WI), Elmhurst College (Elmhurst, IL), Illinois Wesleyan University (Bloomington, IL), Millikin University (Decatur, IL), North Central College (Naperville, IL), North Park University (Chicago, IL) and Wheaton College (Wheaton, IL). During the 2012-13 academic year, the CCIW honored over 1,400 academic all-conference recipients, 15 College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA) Academic All-Americans, 30 CoSIDA Academic All-District recipients, 68 all-Americans and one national championship team.