Wara, Cerroni Highlight 11 All-WIAC Awards

More news about: UW-Oshkosh

Player of the Year Nate Wara and Coach of the Year Pat Cerroni received top honors as 10 Titans were named to the 2012 All-WIAC First Team.

Wara is just the third Titan to win Player of the Year and the first since 1989. UW-Oshkosh's quarterback for the last 40 games, Wara led the conference with 2,389 yards and 22 touchdowns passing this season. He threw one interception in 252 attempts. Wara also ranked fifth in the league with 561 yards and seven touchdowns rushing.

Other Titans named to the offensive first team were running back Cole Myhra, receiver Caleb Voss, all-purpose back Zach Kasuboski and linemen Brandon Peter and Ben Strehlow. UW-Oshkosh's top defensive selections were linebacker Taylor Goodman, cornerback Tim Filter and linemen Nathan Smith and Andrew Thompson.

Goodman made the All-WIAC First Team for the second year in a row. He led the league in forced fumbles (3), while ranking second in sacks (5.5) and ninth in tackles (73).

The conference's second-leading runner, Myhra posted 1,086 yards and 10 touchdowns on the ground. He also caught 24 passes for 300 yards and one score.

Voss and Kasuboski formed a dangerous receiving duo, as each caught 44 passes. Voss booked 908 yards and nine touchdowns to rank second in the WIAC. Kasuboski added 494 receiving yards, 289 rushing yards and four scores.

UW-Oshkosh averages 39 points and 495 yards thanks to outstanding blocking from Peter and Strehlow. The offense scored 50 touchdowns, including 28 on the ground. Against UW-Eau Claire, the offensive line led the way for 442 rushing yards. The unit went over 615 total yards in three games this year.

Filter topped the league with seven interceptions. He also broke up four passes while totaling 33 tackles (26 solo) and one forced fumble.

After making the All-WIAC Second Team last year, Thompson ranked second in the conference with 5.5 sacks. He added 35 tackles (15 solo), including eight for loss. Smith racked up 39 tackles (10 solo) with five for loss and one sack.

Cerroni, in his sixth season as head coach, has UW-Oshkosh ranked fifth in the NCAA Division III and on a 12-game win streak. The Titans (10-0) set the program record for victories and captured their first WIAC title in 36 years.

Three Titans were voted to the defensive second team. Lineman Alex Smith compiled 30 tackles (12 solo) and 4.5 sacks. Safety Frank Martin was second on the squad with 51 tackles (30 solo), as he posted three interceptions and two fumble recoveries. Linebacker Ryan Stefaniak booked 41 stops, including 28 solo and 10 for loss, with a team-leading five passes defended.

Kicker Nate Ray was also a second-team selection. He leads the league with 80 points after making 12-of-12 field goals and 44-of-49 extra points.

UW-Platteville and UW-Whitewater were both represented five times on the All-WIAC First Team. Tailback John Schimenz (UW-River Falls) received the Max Sparger Scholar-Athlete of the Year Award.