30 D-III players named Campbell semifinalists

Thirty Division III football players were named as semifinalists for the 2011 William V. Campbell Trophy, given to the best football scholar-athlete in the nation.

There are a total of 127 semifinalists. Once in the award's history, it was given to a Division III player, as Brandon Roberts of Washington University won it in 2002. 

The National Football Foundation awards committee will select up to 16 finalists, each of whom will receive an $18,000 postgraduate scholarship. Each member of the 2011 National Scholar-Athlete Class will also travel to New York City be honored Dec. 6 at 54th NFF Annual Awards Dinner at the Waldorf-Astoria. One member of the class will also be announced live at the event as the winner of the Campbell Trophy, and his postgraduate scholarship will be increased to $25,000.

Candidates must be a senior or graduate student in their final year of eligibility, have a GPA of at least 3.2 on a 4.0 scale, have outstanding football ability as a first team player or significant contributor, and have demonstrated strong leadership and citizenship. Schools are limited to nominating one player apiece.

The 30 semifinalists from Division III:

John Lesinski, Albion
David Lee, Augustana
Russell Krouse, Bluffton
Richard Doolin, Case Western Reserve
Jeremy Snead, Central
Danny Polaneczky, Chicago
Ryan Webster, Coast Guard
Erik Krol, Cornell
Michael Zweifel, Duqubue
Caleb Hinton, Gallaudet
Chris Jarmon, Grinnell
Joshua Bain, Hamline
Ben Rogers, Hampden-Sydney
Will Dhonau, Macalester
Jeremy Bertrand, Mississippi College
Tyler Wagner, MIT
Allen Petros, Moravian
Long Ding, Norwich
Tyler Aubrey, Redlands
Eric Sharkey, Rowan
Andrew Rotschafer, St. John's
Dan Chapman, St. Thomas
Herman Brito, Trinity (Conn.)
Gary Flavion, Washington and Jefferson
Kyle Larkin, Washington U.
Shawn Lehocky, Westminster (Pa.)
Ben Halbower, Williams
David Goodman, UW-Eau Claire
Justin Budiac, UW-Oshkosh
Jared Kiesow, UW-Whitewater

Aug. 30: All times Eastern
University of New England at Coast Guard
Live stats
Frostburg State at Stevenson
6:00 PM
Alma at Baldwin Wallace
Live stats
7:00 PM
Randolph-Macon at Johns Hopkins
7:00 PM
Hamline at Buena Vista
Video Live stats
7:00 PM
LaGrange at Birmingham-Southern
7:00 PM
Trinity (Texas) at McMurry
7:30 PM
Manchester at Trine
8:00 PM
St. Olaf at Crown
8:00 PM
Millsaps at Belhaven
8:00 PM
UW-Platteville at East Texas Baptist
Live stats
Aug. 31: All times Eastern
Utica at St. Lawrence
6:00 PM
Delaware Valley at Wesley
Live stats
7:00 PM
WPI at Anna Maria
Live stats
7:00 PM
Western New England at Springfield
Live stats
7:00 PM
Nichols at Westfield State
7:00 PM
Millikin at Hope
Preview Live stats
7:00 PM
TCNJ at FDU-Florham
7:00 PM
Becker at MIT
Video Live stats
Dec. 9: All times Eastern
Mount Union 43, at UW-Oshkosh 40
Box Score Recap Recap Photos
at Mary Hardin-Baylor 24, Brockport 0
Box Score Recap Photos
Dec. 15: All times Eastern
Mount Union 12, at Mary Hardin-Baylor 0
@ Salem, Va.
Video Box Score Recap Photos